Problems with my sausage and snack sticks.

• I have been making this stuff for quite a few years and never had a problem. My last two batches have turned out o.k. at first but if I open a package the meat will start turning a gray color after awhile. Even in the refrigerator.

At first I thought it was because I couldn’t get sur-gel and used an alternative. I have tried two different binders with same results. I have been using Waltons seasonings and instruction. I can’t figure out what is causing the change in color.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

• Power User PK100 Regular Contributors Team Grey

sawdoff did you add the sure cure(pink salt)?

• Yes, one per 25lbs.

• Team Blue Cast Iron Sous Vide Canning Dry Cured Sausage Masterbuilt Military Veterans Power User Regular Contributors

You meat isn’t cured thoroughly either from a lack of time or conditions that are not ideal. Solution is either allow more curing time, better conditions, or use sodium erythrobate in addition to the cure #1.

• I will try that with my next batch. Thank you.

• Team Orange

Do you add the cure as a powder or mix it with some water? Adding it as a slurry will help distribution with the meat.

• I mix the cure with water. I gave it 12 hrs maybe I need to give it 24 hrs.

• Team Blue Admin Walton's Employee Power User

Yeah, what mrobisr says is the most likely culprit. The sodium nitrite in Sure Cure breaks down into nitric oxide which is basically what gives it the curing power. If the cure doesn’t break down do to lack of time, or lack of an accelerator it will not work in the meat. The other issues could be that they didn’t bloom long enough. Once they come out of the smoker make sure they get to sit out at room temp for at least an hour to help color develop.

• Power User PK100 Regular Contributors Team Grey